New year. New me!

As some of you know...but many of you don't I am back in Ukraine for another year! 

 

Last year after returning from home at Christmas, I really started to feel like Ukraine was a good place for me. There are many reasons for this but it all really comes down to the fact that I am really happy here. And for that reason, I started to put out some feelers for possible job opportunities to stay here in Ukraine. In the Spring, I accepted a job with the London School of English in Kyiv as an English teacher. 

 

This summer, I went to Odessa (in the south of Ukraine) to take my English teaching certification course (CELTA). After a month of studying and teaching and more studying, I 'graduated' with a CELTA certificate and then I came home for a bit of a vacation. 

 

Two weeks ago, I said goodbye to my family again and came back to Ukraine. Moved into my new apartment in Kyiv. Last week was work orientation and this week...Classes start! 

 

To be honest, I can't believe this is what I am actually doing. For years everyone around me said that I would be a great teacher. And for years I told everyone around me that I would teach over my dead body. Well, here I am. Completely alive and teaching. And really liking it. 

 

But, I am also terrified. Overwhelmed by all I don't know and fears of letting my students down. Paralyzed by my own worries. 

 

My boss, at LSE, she keeps saying take it one step at a time. And I am trying to remind myself to do that. One day, one class, one lesson plan at a time. Because when I look through theses textbooks and syllabi and grammar books...all I am reminded of is how little I know! 

 

Enough of my musing of my anxieties. 

 

Good things are happening too. I love Kyiv. I love living in the bigger city, I love reading on the metro on my commute to work, I love all the people and all of the opportunities, and I love my new apartment. 

 

I am also very lucky because I am starting out with four other new native speaker teachers and in total 10 new teachers at LSE (I think...there are a lot of us).  I get along well with the other teachers and feel like for the first time since I arrived in Ukraine I have a really healthy group of friends with common interests.


Hanging out with so many Brits is really changing my vocabulary though. I've gotten to the point where I sort of think in British English and then when I go to speak I say crazy things because it is a mixture of American English and British English. So that has created some funny moments.

 

All is all. Life is good. Life is crazy. I am anxious...but what is new? I am working hard at taking this whole thing one small step at a time. Thoughts...advice..funny jokes to distract me. All are welcome. 

 

Hopefully, I will write again soon (at least sooner than my last post!) But we will see what happens here with my first couple weeks of school. 

 

До свидания. 

Bye for now! 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 4
  • #1

    Charlene (Sunday, 02 September 2018 12:37)

    Betsy,
    You are amazing. This is such a great chapter in your life story and I am sure it will be written as well as the others. Blessings to you as your journey on.
    Love Charlene

  • #2

    Samantha Ea (Monday, 03 September 2018 08:29)

    You are awesome. I hope year two in Ukraine brings many more memories and growing experiences. Cheers to you, my friend! Best of luck!! <3

  • #3

    Aunt Mary (Monday, 03 September 2018 08:46)

    Glad everything is going well. Happy and worry all the time for you. Take care. Love Aunt Mary. PS Joann's has 60% off one item today!

  • #4

    Ellen Macdonald (Tuesday, 04 September 2018 18:33)

    My daughter went to Japan to teach English with no training. She stayed 3 years and has been in the field most of the time since. 20+ years. It has been rewarding. She is now the grammar go-to person in the family. All the best to you. You are remarkable person!